I Forge Iron

Super Strength Concrete post anvil base?

Hello, recently I have come across a 900 mm long 4.5" solid round of already heat treated 4140 for a very good price and brought it home but I have no idea how I'm actually going to use it as a anvil. I was thinking of building a wooden pyramid like structure about 750 mm tall, 500 wide and 250 wide at top with the pyramid top cut off placing the anvil inside and filling it with super strength fastcrete (30 MPA fast setting concrete). 

Would this be any good? If I stand it upright the 900 mm is right at my knuckle height also any additional idea as to getting it upright? Preferably without buying a engine hoist?

Thank you in advance.

I have no experience with use of concrete in anvil bases. Take a look at this thread for some ideas. I made an anvil similar to what you're describing with a metal support with the anvil attached to it with clamps. The all contraption is stationary and bolted to the floor. 

I think a wooden structure alone would work, and make for a move-able stand. I have heard of cement sleeve post anvils for LONG  stock before but have never seen one personally. I wouldn't like  the idea of having to bust the thing up if i ever wanted to rebuild tho. If you are going to go cement perhaps a 55 gal. barrel would be a better "shell" than wood. That would allow you to move it as well. 

I made my anvil with an 8lb sledge hammer head and nine lengths of 4x4 lumber. Cut the wood to the same length, strap them together, carve out a tight hole for the anvil, and beat in the anvil.

The only problem I have found so far is that in bounces around a bit when I start really getting down on it. Check out my thread about my shop for pics.

The consensus on concrete anvil bases generally seems to be NO, not a good idea. The vibration of the hammer blows can cause cracking and chipping, leading to instability at best and catastrophic failure at worst.