I Forge Iron

WT-Fab

Hey guys, brand new to the site and I figured I'd throw out there what I'm doing with my Forge. This is my first time building a forge and I really don't know what I'm doing other than what I've seen in YouTube videos and on line forums like this. I've built a burner similar to something that I've seen kind of like a t style burner. This is sort of just a trial and error burner seems to work okay I don't know how hot the inner chamber will get. The main tube for the burner is 1 inch by 12 inch long  black pipe nipple  both Bell ends are 1 inch to inch and a half couplers  with the threads machined out of them. the forge body itself I'm using the drum out of an old furnace and coating the inside with a readily available refractory cement and perlite mixture. The refractory cement is rated to 3000 degrees so I figured it would be alright for a first-time shot worst case scenario I chip it out and start over. I'm curious as to how thick the refractory layer should be on a chamber that will be roughly 11in in diameter and 12in deep. I will be using a 5 gallon bucket as a form for the inner chamber I figured the tapered sides of the bucket would release nicely from the inside of the chamber. I'm also wondering on Burner placement if it should be at an angle or straight down towards the bottom or floor of the burn chamber. I planned on getting a couple of fire bricks to sit in the floor to help with wear and tear on the forge itself. I would truly appreciate any insight that anybody would be willing to give also I take all criticism is constructive and only use it to better what I'm looking to do with this project. Check out the pictures and let me know what you guys think!

Thanks!