I Forge Iron

Newbie needing some assistance

Kabir Singh

Hello all,

I could use some assistance. I am relatively new to blacksmith and have only worked at my forge around 10x since September/October.

I have a two burner majestic forge.

last weekend I was doing some work and a red hot taper punctured the liner of the forge.

This forge has a FACTORY RIGIDIZED VACUUM FORMED CERAMIC LINER on the top and sides, with the Dense high siliconized Ladle Brick on the bottom. It has a Rigidizer applied at the factory for a hard durable interior surface, the liner is light in weight which makes it easier to move it to where you need to use it.

The liner was pierced and some crumbling occurred.

My questions are this:

1. Is this lining safe to use still now that the surface is broken, it has been scratched before but I never put much thought into whether it was still safe until the puncture.

2. How can I repair it as the FAQ states that Further rigidizer may react with the factory application and damage it.

3. Are their any genuinely safe premade forges available? Have any manufacturers truly taken safety into consideration.

This does make me somewhat anxious as I love forging very much but as an ex smoker and I have had some asbestos exposure in the past and my lung health is important to me.

I don't want to give up the hobby but my health comes first so I want to find a way to do it safely.

Thank you very much!

Contact the manufacturer and ask what they would advise as far as a repair and your concern.

Its like buying a new car - you never want to put a scratch on, it but once it has one you just use it - forges are the same way - almost all of them have had steel poked or bumped into the insulation at some time or another.

I have tried but am still waiting a response. The crumbling of  the ceramic liner has me concerned and leaves me wondering about safety etc. I don't want to be inhaling respirable fibres.