I Forge Iron

My New Coal Forge - looking for advice

Snydertech

Good morning all!  I am new to smithing and new to this site.  I am attempting to build a coal forge from some parts I have and want to get some feedback before I finish it.  I had a metal cart and put in a truck hub into it.  I notched out the sides to be able to put a longer piece in it in the future.  At the Bottom, I plan to put a pipe feeding air with a tee in it and attach a blower to the end.  The blower I want to put on a dimmer (not sure if this will work yet) so I can control the air flow.  I already have the blower, just needing to buy the piping. Does this look like a good approach so far?  What would you have done different?  I left some room on the side of the pot to be able to put up some fire bricks to build a side/top if needed.  Do I need to line the pot with anything? Thanks for the advice. 

Dave

5a450fd6ced66_CoalForge.thumb.jpeg.51adf98a7c363c3afb5761f876779b59.jpeg

From what I see the table is fine. You will have difficulty adding fuel to the fire with the tall lip. Personally I prefer using a rear Rotor that used the inner drum style e brake. Around 8"dia. And 2-3" deep. The rotor lip holds it in the table and is low enough to rake fresh coal into the pot. 

For bottom blast I use 2" black pipe for the T. I have heard of people using 3" as well but 2" works great for me. A tractor exhaust flap cap with a weighted handle works great for the bottom ash dump. 

You can use expandable metal clothes dryer vent to get the air from the blower to the twyere. Just leave an air gap between the blower and the dryer vent. Air the blower more directly to the pipe for more air, not so directly for less air. 

You will want a fireball about the size of a melon. You will want additional coal on top of that to replace the coal as it is consumed. Place the metal 1/2 to 2/3 of the way up the fire ball to get it hot.

1 hour ago, Daswulf said: