I Forge Iron

Hi ya'll from SW Ohio

BillyBones

New here but been reading yall's posts for a while. I would like to say first and foremost thank you old guys for the wisdom you put forth here. 

I just started my journey of the smith. I am an Army vet and my therapist says that a good hobby will keep my mental problems at bay. I grew up on a farm in KY and we had a small forge in the barn that my grandpa would repair tools and the like with. I have been around a forge but never learned to work steel. Until now. I have made a few stakes, tongs and 1 knife (just to see if i could). But just mostly am working on bending, shaping, twisting and of course my techniques. 

I use an old cast iron grill with a blower attached for a coal/charcoal forge. And an old vice that the jaws broke off of but the anvil side is still intact for my anvil. Yeah i know not ideal but i didnt want to shell out a bunch of money just to find out i either dont like it or aint no good at it. I am pushing 50 and have lived through the age of bullheaded stubbornness. Which means i will now own up to my mistakes, take criticism  well, and have learned to follow direction. 

Welcome to Glenn’s international block party.

i used a hibatchy and vice as a kid, let’s see if we can’t get you on the road to a low $ kit that is a bit better,

first I have been experimenting with low $ side blast forges 

This is the second rendition, or mark II forge, my research and experiments have led to a better understanding of charcoal specific side blasts. Tho for the most part coal works just fine.

This will help you either build a more efferent forge or modify your grill to be more efferent.

And lastly some ideas on an improved anvil. 

Honestly a 10# sledge from the tool shed will be better than your vice. Even if you have to buy new a $100 investment will get you a very low $ kit.