I Forge Iron

Hello!

I'm new to the forum, just joined 15 minutes ago lol...

I am new to Blacksmithing but love everything I have done so far. I have completed a couple classes at the heritage museum closed to me and at the local college.

Also did a 3 day bladesmithing class in Camp Verde, AZ a few weeks ago with ABS Mater Ray Rybar.

Currently working on acquiring my own tools and getting shop space set up.

Right now this will be a hobby or side job? But I have plans to move to Hawaii in about three years.

My wife and I purchased land there earlier this year on the Big Island, 20 Acres. So we will be working on building a house and a shop in the next couple years before moving.

I will add some pictures of the tools I have gotten so far.

2x72.jpg2 x 72 grinder from Ameribrade

anvil.jpg 200lb anvil from Pieh tools and the stand I built myself

forge.jpgMy vintage forge I bought about 45-50 years old in the process of restoring it now

post vise.jpg

a post vise I got

surface grinder.JPG

and old Boyar-Schultz surface grinder

Welcome aboard, (not sure what to call you) glad to have you.

You've got quite the kit already, the forge is kind of iffy though, in my opinion. It's going to cost a bunch to ship to Hawaii and I THINK you're gong to have to ship coal too. Darned expensive beginning to end. Charcoal has been used in forges and furnaces for millenia longer than coal and from what I hear coconut shell is an excellent source. Check out the "side blast" forge as they're better suited to charcoal AND they work a treat for coal. Check out the JABOD forge for one that you won't have to ship  from the mainland. ;) The 55 forge is another example of using what's available to make a good working forge, it's also easy to set up as a side blast.