I Forge Iron

Salut from Montreal!

samwiththej

Hello, everyone!

I am a beginner, but have always wanted to get my hands at blacksmithing. It  is my dream to build actual knives, swords, and armors, as well as plenty of other things from metals. I started with an introductory course with a non-profit organization here called Le Forges de Montreal. The first things I forged are here: https://imgur.com/gallery/wm9xo. (A fire poker, nails, chisel, center cut, coat hanger). I am looking forward to learning and growing as a smith with everyone! 

Welcome aboard! Nice work for your first time at the forge. 

Hard to say what the weight of the hammer could be without knowing the dimensions of that anvil.  Over time your hands will strengthen, ugh, I think the tape on the palm is worse then actually wearing a glove. You'll get there, Keep at it. 

There is a Lot of info here so read up and if you have any questions there are many here to help. 

9 minutes ago, Daswulf said:

Welcome aboard! Nice work for your first time at the forge. 

Hard to say what the weight of the hammer could be without knowing the dimensions of that anvil.  Over time your hands will strengthen, ugh, I think the tape on the palm is worse then actually wearing a glove. You'll get there, Keep at it. 

There is a Lot of info here so read up and if you have any questions there are many here to help. 

Thank you! I was told the hammer was around 2lbs. I have really small hands, so I'm looking to have my hammer customized (hopefully make one for myself in the future). I actually forgot to get gloves, so I just covered all the wounds and blisters with bandage and tape. Hehe. Thank you so much!