I Forge Iron

Another newbie forge build

Will42805

Hello I'm new to this forum. I'm also new to Forge building and blacksmithing. I'm trying to build a quality Forge that will last a while. The Forge is made of 9 by 4.5 fire bricks both 2 1/2  (top and bottom) and 1 1/4 (sides). The forge sides top and bottom will be a welded 11 gauge steel tube sized to fit tightly around the bricks. There will be two removable end caps that will protect the bricks on the ends from damage and allow replacement of bricks that are damaged. The forge OD is 27 in Long by 9 in wide by 9.5 tall. The ID is 4.5 x 6.5 x 27.

Obviously seeing as I am new at this I am looking for any input both positive and negative. Any ideas warnings or additional commentary are very much appreciated.

Initial questions that I have are.

1 I've noticed some Forge burners have the Bell on the bottom and some are mounted to a floor plate. What are the positives and negatives of both. If I should do the Bell how far into the brick should it extend. I have chosen to make a Venturi style valve using three quarter to 1 and 1/4 reducers. I'm also using three quarter pipe 8 inches long for the burners. I have used a number 58 drill bit for the office and a 1/4 OD brass pipe nipple for the Venturi burner. I expect to run all three burners off of a manifold. Each burner will have its own needle valve.

I like to think I have most of this down but I'm sure I will find a few criticisms and learn something along the way. Thanks for your time in Reading this and I look forward to the replies.

15088000850031727636754.jpg

15088001387191287528946.jpg

1508800167870411927870.jpg

15088001950901572900382.jpg

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Check out the Build a Gas Forge on the Forge Supplies page of my web-site. The fire brick is a heat sink and will cause you to use excessive amounts of gas and will therefore, also take a long time to heat up to forging temperatures.