I Forge Iron

What's your day job

Jasent

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Currently: Flight line Airworthiness inspector, AMT-I, Preflight & Delivery - At a large commercial airplane company near Seattle.

Spring 2018: Going to retire and spend my winters on the beach in Puerto Vallarta, enjoying many icy cold beers and grilled shrimp tacos... :rolleyes:

Currently I'm a flooring installer. We lay all sorts of floors in all sorts of places. Not where I want to be, but it sort of pays the bills.

I'm going through college for software development, even though I've been doing it as a hobby for 11 years. Everyone wants you to have a degree now a days, sigh.

Prior to installing floors I was a heavy equipment mechanic specializing in big cranes, to include the three biggest operating in the gulf of Mexico. I did metal fabrication for temporary replacement parts and additional attachments on all of the equipment we worked on.

Validation Engineer at a computer factory in Mexico; working on the big rack mount systems.  I write shell scripts to test they get built correctly, (all 1000 disk drives are the correct model and at the correct firmware revision, all the cables go from the correct A to the correct B, DIMMS are in the correct slots, etc.)  Prior to that about 25 years working with major research organizations: NRAO and Bell Labs; so basically an old UNIX guy; bearded, balding and I'd be wearing suspenders save that I have to go through security so often at the plant...Hitting things with hammers after work is VERY therapeutic!  (Double BS degrees: Geology and CIS)