I Forge Iron

Chipped piece off of Axe

I am still new to blacksmithing but recently I found an old double bit axe I was trying to save. I was nearly complete when I decided to harden the blade before sharpening and etching. I hardened the edge in water because I thought the steel wouldn't harden very well (I know terrible mistake) I ended up cracking the lower part of one of the sides of the axe. I'm still trying to save the axe (The other side is still fine) but I don't know what I can do with this double bit axe when the other side cannot be symmetrical. does anyone have ideas on what to do with the other edge? (Maybe a spike or a smaller head?) I'd really like some advice from people who know what their doing.

Welcome aboard!

You could put a single sided bevel (just make sure it's on the correct side for your right or left-handedness) on the damaged side and and have a combination felling and shaping axe! I see some appeal to the bushcraft world... Whatever you do, keep in mind that the high carbon steel bit, in most old axes, only goes up an inch or two, so you could accidentally grind it off. Also keep in mind that you will be limited to double bit handles as long as you don't re-drift the eye. Good luck, and send us some pics of what you come up with!

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. Please come up with a web handle your sign in name is more like something I try to forget. If you put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance.

Bummer about chipping the ax. Do you  know how old it is? Up until not long ago the standard way to get the ax head off broken handles was to toss them in the stove burn it out and recover the ax head and wedges later. New axes don't chip when you rock them. (hit a rock with a missed blow or splitting)