I Forge Iron

Stuck in the city. Now what?

Allright guys. I've been forging for almost two years now and I dont want to stop. However, I just moved into college. (Cooper Union in Manhattan if you're wondering). So now I'm stuck with wondering how do I continue forging when I have no space to do it. I know some people can do stock removal knives and heat treating on fire escapes. I dont have anywhere like that. I don't want to stop but it seems like thats my only option, especially on a college student budget.

Second: I've used a one soft firebrick forge powered by a simple propane torch to forge small objects in my basement in mid winter.  One of my students was in college and his dorm had propane grills chained to the fence out back of it---one of them had a propane forge hidden in it...

Something like my Y1K anvil would be easy to move about 

anvil 102.jpg

Does the college have a fine arts department with metal or pottery or even glass blowing studios?

The Idea Foundry in columbus OH has a smithy; might check for a maker space with welding where a small propane forge would not be out of place.

What do you have to work with, and how much do you want to use a forge? 

All you really need is something to get the metal hot, something to hit on, and something to hit with. Does the school have an art department? Does the maintenance department have a building you can go beside or behind? Anyone on campus have a gas grill? Then make your gas forge look like a gas grill and occasionally cook a hot dog or two while you forge. 

Have you contacted the local blacksmithing groups and found out when and where they meet? 

If you REALLY want to do it,  you can find a way. 

If you can hook up with Theo maybe I'll get talked into finishing one of your blades.  Hmmm? This dark side stuff isn't half bad. Now if my skills would come along faster, I've really screwed up the ricasso on this blade but I'll get there.