I Forge Iron

My Seax attempt

Tzelik Hammar

Finished the forge work on this today, quenched fine and baked it at 450 for an hour. Ended up tannish with purple areas, little confused because it's my first time heat treating (I made stock removal knives in the past from finished metals)

Are the colors right for a functional knife or should I try again. Just concerned that the purple is in some random spots. The edge is purple too. Wish I could keep it that color.

Image is post quench, pre-treat. I was just giddy it didn't explode or warp!

20170906_182316.jpg

• Replies 61
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

You need to buy an oven thermometer, you oven may not have an accurate thermostat. Another thing to remember especially for a gas oven, the thermostat keeps an AVERAGE temperature so it will  range above and below the set temp. Electric ovens keep a more even temp but even then the elements are on only about 20% of the time once it's to temp. 

That means it gets the oven hot enough it won't drop below the minimum temp for about 10 minutes (in our oven) so it gets the temp well above the setting so it takes a while to cool to the low side restart. A way to help even out the temp is to place your blade in a pan of sand, the added thermal mass takes longer to heat and cool so it'll average closer to the setting but GET AN OVEN THERMOMETER!

So yeah, I'm not a bit surprised the thin places on your blade show 540f. temper colors when the oven was set for 450f. Purple to blue is good for the spine and I like straw for the edge on a work knife say a skinner, pale straw for a light duty slicer say a pocket knife. I'd shoot for a dark straw for a heavy chopper like a broken back Seax.

Frosty The Lucky.

Hrmm. Backwards result from what I tried to achieve then. So should I return to the forge for a requench? Would a different quenching medium change the heat treat result? I used oil, but I could use water or maybe even mix up some brine.