I Forge Iron

beginner shop

Tito

Hey so I am brand new to this, it is something I have wanted to do for years but I finally decided to just go for it. I have kind of limited space and live in a wetter area. I am looking to make a small portable shop thing I can keep mobile to move inside to store but I will use outside. I am planning to build something like a brake drum forge to start, and I am still looking for an anvil/ASO. Any hints on how to do things?

I think there are thousands of hints on how to do this on this site.  I suggest some intensive reading. One thing that is generally helpful is to edit your profile and list a general location.  I've posted many times about my local scrapyard selling improvised anvils for 20 cents a pound---but that won't help you if you are in Brasil...

BTW an Anvil Shaped Object is something that looks sort of like an anvil but can't be used as an anvil, generally because it's made from cast iron and so disintegrates in use.  An improvised anvil is something that does not look like a london pattern anvil; but works very well as an anvil.  There is a recent thread on them that you might profit from.  I do not think you want an ASO.

Acualy the moderators pinned it and because of my big mouth, credited it to me.

I am not a fan of the brake drum forge, first it takes moe than $50 just in pipe fittings, then you have to mount the thing, not that they don't work, and many smiths started with them and still use them. 

In his 55 forge series Glenn shows you two setups that are nice, an exaust pipe tuyere and a side blast, we have also explored simple sideblasts using a box of pallet wood and and dirt. Portability almost takes a cart, used gas grill carts are common, but HF sales cheep mechanics carts (steel) or Ike can buy the cheep furniture dolly for the casters ($20 for 4 vs $8 each)