I Forge Iron

Becma forges.

Gareth Johnston

first of all im new to this im new to gas forging and blacksmithing so if i get anything incorrect please forgive me . but im looking  opinions  on this type of forge as i was thinking of starting out with the BECMA Gas Forge Double Burner GFR.6 neo . from what i gather it seems most suitable for both blacksmithing and farrier work at a suitable price range unless you have very deep pockets . I wont be doing any farrier work all larger work including everyday shop repairs and someday hoping to be able to have any skills to make knifes etc . look forward to replies . Gareth . 

I went to their website. Their prices are about mid-range. From the little I could see, they looked well made. I don't like the burner design, but they seem to put out a hot flame. There looks to be a high alumina kiln shelf dividing the vertical space in the forge; that could be a very bright idea, if you have occasional need to do three dimensional work in the forge, but don't want to pay a high fuel bill the rest of the time; otherwise, not so much. It will help, but physics cannot be ignored; a bigger space costs more to heat.

I just don't think they have been available long enough in our marketplace, to make a good call on whether or not to buy.

I checked out a couple of their forges and they look to have like pretty thin liners. The blacksmith forge looked to be split fire brick or the equivalent. The one you're looking at the GFR6 looks to have an insulting liner of some sort judging by the fibers hanging from the burner port holes.