I Forge Iron

Post Vise Height ?

Derek Haiges

Am I crazy for wanting to lower my post vise ( Jaw height) to match my anvil height?

I just got a post/ leg vise but have not set it up yet. Before I do, i would appreciate any thoughts.

The thinking behind this is that i know with woodcarving theirs more control when your looking directly over the chisel. I did an imaginary test, and it feels  more comfortable with a chisel at a lower height. Im debating whether i should keep it at its intended height, lower it (dig into earth) to reach the height of my anvil top surface, or somewhere in between. Since i am a beginner, i would hate to set this up lower and come to find all the reasons why not to.

My Post Vise is 42" tall and my anvil height/ sweet spot is 28" tall.

Welcome aboard Derek, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the gang live within visiting distance.

Hammering in a leg vise is better done low, anvil height is well within the norm for guys making a living with them.  A while back somebody posted an article out of an old timey how to book, maybe even a "Machinery Handbook." in the article it listed the proper working heights for vises and the reasons. The top of the closed jaws is the mark for height.

Striking vises were mounted at a height to facilitate the kind of striking being done. Heavy blows and the vise was sometimes below waist height. Lighter vertical blows say: heading rivets, or upsetting, bending, etc. and it was mounted higher. 

Hand work like sawing, filing, scraping, etc. and the top of the vise was best mounted at elbow level so the forearms remain level through the stroke. 

My tree dented brain says you're thinking is right for chisel work. Mount the vise to fit you ad how you work.

Frosty The Lucky.