I Forge Iron

Greetings from Finland!

Meadowgrove

Hello, ferrous friends. I'm a 32-year-old paper process operator hailing from southeastern Finland. I've always had a careful interest towards all things handmade. I've been dreaming of picking up blacksmithing as a hobby for nearly a decade, but never really got around to it.

Some years ago I finally bought a low-grade 5gk cast iron anvil and put together a cruddy forge-like out of an old tire rim. I made a simple L-shaped coal poker that's actually still in use in my parents' sauna. Well, shortly after that fun afternoon... something(honestly don't know what)... happened and everything blacksmithing-related was put to the back burner. My own fault, naturally. Shouldn't start a hobby, no matter how interesting, without a friend or a mentor. Always have someone to cheer you up or kick your butt if/when you have a hard time keeping your stuff together.

Anyhoo, I'm here to learn. The amount of information available may be bordering on terrifying, but I will persevere! And ask silly questions(After Googling first, of course)! I Hope the curmudgeons won't eat me alive...

Oh no, *never* alive!  Spitted on a Lund Spit and roasted over a nice charcoal forge fire maybe...

As I recall you are not our first smith from Finland so you might dig around and try to find someone to be a forge friend---I just did a web search on my browser with Finland and iforgeiron.com as the search terms and turned up some interesting stuff....

Hakkaa päälle is not the motto of the curmudgeons; but "ask clear and detailed questions" may be...

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. Ah the curmudgeons only bite when provoked and never eat anything but oysters and sprouts alive. Ewwwww! 

My first fire rake lives in the house next to the wood heat stove. I had to make another one to use in the coal fire. Ah, a good tool is a good tool where ever you use it.