I Forge Iron

Productivity in the big picture

It occurred to me today that the word "productivity" has (at least) three accepted meanings, each of which is driven by the observers perspective.

To the worker, productivity is the rate of work getting done.  For example "John installed twenty lights today"

To the manager, productivity is the effectiveness of work getting done for example "Our lighting crew has completed 60% of the work with half of the schedule remaining"

In the big picture, productivity is the rate of change in the effectiveness of work getting done. For example "We increased our revenue by 2.5% without hiring more people."

Back when I was an apprentice, we were expected to make production on our assignments.  We were often given a specific amount of material to install in our working day.  All of our scrap went into an individual bucket.  Anyone who had an excess of material or scrap at the end of the working day better have a good explanation ready.  Falling behind attracted attention which brought instruction and correction in mostly equal measure.

On larger jobs it was common to see managers comparing the progress between crews.  The affected foremen running said crews faced a similar fate for falling behind.

Managers likewise, face comparisons made by the companies ownership.  This approach brings mixed results which reinforce just about everyone's complaint with employee-management relations. 

Recently I read some articles talking about how productivity is at an all time low.  This is one of the most common explanations for why wages have been largely stagnant for so long.  Delving deeper into the article, I realized that employers are citing a flat rate of improved effectiveness as "low productivity".  It's not that workers aren't getting things done, it's that they're not getting more stuff done than they have in the past.