I Forge Iron

Hammer eye punch for power hammer

Hello I am new to the forum and to blacksmithing.

I would like to try and make some hammers with my 100lb little giant but I cant find a hammer eye punch for the little giant. I have seen videos of guys using them like Paul Krzyszkowski just used in his double head axe video on you tube. Where would I find one of these punches for the PH or does some one have the dimensions of how to make one my self. Sorry like I said I am very new to blacksmith work and am trying to learn as much as I can. I am also trying to sigh up for some classes with Lyle Wynn for over the winter if he still is doing classes.  

Find the hammer handles you plan to use, get some H-13 or S-7 steel and CAREFULLY forge a SHORT  punch.  If you will be making your own handles make them like you like them.

I am a bit concerned that you can use a 100# LG but not know how to do the punch?  Sounds like some basics are lacking.

If you read what I said yes some basics are lacking. And that is why I joined the Forum and I am asking questions and looking to take the class with Lyle. I have been welding and machining metal for years and own quite a bit of equipment for someone that does not do it for a living. I love working with metal and have been using the PH to make Damascus that I will make blades with and I decided I would like to make my own hammers so I am I the process or research and learning how to make tooling to do so. Making tooling is a bit different the ornamental stuff and banging on railroad spikes so there for I will study and learn before I jump into it. Thank you for you input and concern but I am not some idiot that is going to hurt myself or damage a 97 year old power hammer