I Forge Iron

Introduction

MDDstudios

Hello. My name is Matthew a graduate student from in Boley, Oklahoma and I have been forging for a few years. While I am a new member to the site I have been a avid visitor for about the past year. I just figured it was about time to join this forum to get into contact with blacksmiths and to try and improve my forging. I have not had a lot of time recently to forge due the lack of rain, wind and my studies, but am trying to schedule some more free time this Fall to forge, and hopefully take part in a nearby craft fair.

Welcome Matthew.  It's obvious you've been reading for a while because you precluded the usual requests for location by adding it in advance and gave a nice, concise summary of yourself.  So far you are curmudgeon proof!

Let us know the type of forging you do, the tools you use (anvil, forge type, etc..) and post pictures!  Oh yeah, what are you studying in grad school.  There is a seriously high nerd factor on this site and people bring a whole lot of interesting information outside of smithing almost daily.  

Lou

Thanks for the compliment. Currently I am using a full sized Whitlox Wood-Fired forge (currently using coal, but am switching to wood) and a NC 112lbs. Cavalry Anvil. Pictures will have to wait as photography is a hobby of mine and my camera needs to be cleaned out. In graduate school I am studying Museum Studies, while in college I got a Major in Anthropology and a Minor in History, hopefully I can get a job in a museum, at least that is the goal.

Give you a bit to get up to speed and you can give TP a run for his money!

the Saltfork Craftsmen are the states artistic blacksmith association, tho not limited to blacksmiths, broom makers, fiber artist and all are welcome. There is a meeting every week some were in the state, and one for each area every month. Great bunch of ladies and gentlemen. Just google them.