I Forge Iron

Grill n' Sand charcoal forge

Hi all,

This is my first attempt at a charcoal forge and regardless of how much I have read on various website, I still feel completely clueless as to whether I am doing things right. I am living in Milwaukee for the summer so I wanted something relatively small so I could keep it on my porch. My solution is a grill that I cut a hole into and used a 1" black iron pipe as the tuyere. The grill is filled with sand and the fire pot is carved in that. I put some refractory cement on the bottom of the grill to try and protect it a bit. I think the fire pot may need to be made a bit wider? 

The air is supplied by a shop vac which is too much at full blast so I still need to make a way to control the air flow. Probably just a valve for now but I might open it up and try to make it adjustable on the electronics. 

Let me know what you guys think!

IMG_20170711_184254878.jpg

IMG_20170711_184259190.jpg

IMG_20170711_193314915.jpg

IMG_20170711_193347436.jpg

IMG_20170711_194018806_HDR.jpg

IMG_20170711_200532799_HDR.jpg

Set the top of the dirt about 4" from the top of the tuyere pipe. The idea is to run the stock level threw the heart of the fire. For now you can simply leave a gap between the blower and the tuyere to control the fire. If you are getting more than a few fire fleas you probably have to much air. 

The nice thing about sand and dirt is it's easy to reshape and adjust the fire bowl

Let's see, you've made a relatively inexpensive charcoal forge, you are using wood charcoal (not briquettes), you've successfully heated the steel and formed it into a passable rake, and you listed your location with your first post. Congratulations, you're off to a great start. Now it's time to start refining the process. As Charles said above, a deeper firepot will serve you better and reducing the pressure of the airflow will also help. Think volume more than pressure. Maybe a bathroom exhaust fan or hair dryer set on low.