I Forge Iron

Building a coal forge

Howdy yall. So as promised in my intro here is my first question. I am just getting started and I plan to build a coal forge. I have an old number 2 wash tub and I was curious on what yall thought about maybe putting a pipe in the middle of it and sculpting a fire pot into it with clay. also I have seen forges with and without hoods do I need one and does a hood help with heat retention. my forge will be basically outside I have a back patii with 3 foot pony walls and a tin roof over it. thays where my forge will be.

You mean you want to build a Tim Lively washtub forge like has been used by folks for a couple of decades all over the world now?   Search on that and look at the old neo-tribal smithing stuff from way back when.  (This question reads a lot like "I want to build a car; what do you think of me putting a gasoline engine in it would that work?")

You might even run across some of my posts---I was Bogiron on a couple of the neotribal metal smiths forums.

Thanks for the info Charles. 

Thomas its my bad I need to be more specific... I reckon since its been done by alot of people for decades then it would be a good idea. my actual questions are should I make it side blast or bottom blast? which one would be best? And I was wondering if there is a magical measurement that everyone uses for their firepots. i.e. length depth and width. Also thanks for the tip on the neo tribal smithing I will have to look it up tonight, headed back to the hotel now. 

I have one more qyestion rattling around in my head.... So in some modern adobe buildings they use lime to help stabalize the structures. I am also fairly sure that lime is costic in powder form. if I added it to the clay and sand mixture would it help prevent heat checking and if so would it put off toxic fumes when heated?

unslaked lime is caustic, slaked lime they add to fields as fertilizer and use to mark football fields.