I Forge Iron

HELP Propane burner hookup and gas distribution

Diesel_reaction

Hey there I need some help with hooking up the burners to my forge. Im new to smithing and this is my first attempt at a forge. My forge has 3 trex burners and my goal is to be able to use them independantly or all together. I have researched how the propane distribution block should look and came up with this. Pics attached. My issue is to go from the distrobution block to the burners i need to use flexible copper tubing and to connect it im using compression fittings, the issue is the compression fittings keep leaking ive tried a hundred times and i just cant get them not to leak propane a bit. Is there a special way to do this? Any help would be great.

Thanks

20170701_203035.jpg

20170701_203011_002.jpg

20170701_202919.jpg

20170701_202842.jpg

Not compression fittings, you want to use "Flare" fittings. Make your copper tubing long enough to bend a loop in it that way it will flex if something hits it. Cut just right and it'll kink or even break if something hits it.

Your construction looks good. What refractory are you going to use to cover the ceramic blanket? Leaving it uncoated will really shorten its life and you'll be breathing more hard fired ceramic fibers than you really should. A 3,000f water set high alumina castable refractory works very well it's concrete hard at welding temps and is impervious to hot borax welding fluxes. Borax at welding temps is caustic in the extreme and dissolves silicate ceramics like fire brick and ceramic wool refractory blanket. Alumina ceramics don't care at all about caustics.  As of now Kast-O-Lite 30 bubble alumina refractory is looking like the most popular. It's very effective in my forges.

I'd lose the fire brick, it's a heat sink if hard brick and soft brick degrades quickly with the thermal cycling of a small shop forge like we use.