I Forge Iron

Introduction: Jared McGowan

·       Good evening IFI,

My name is 1) Jared McGowan and I live in 2) Indianapolis, IN. I have been lurking on this forum for several months and figured I should jump on board and introduce myself. I am a lighting designer in the live entertainment industry. I developed an interest in blacksmithing about 7 months ago.

3) I plan on making general household utility items such as hooks and drawer pulls to start. I am also going to dabble in bladesmithing and anything else that catches my fancy as I journey on.

4) I took a class at Brown County Forge in Bloomington, IN. There was no turning back after that.

5) I am in the process of building a railroad track anvil which was obtained through legal means.

6) My first forge will be a stacked firebrick forge.

7) Terran Marks at Brown County Forge was my first in person teacher. I took a class from him in May. IFI was my first teacher when it comes to grasping all the details that go into blacksmithing. My girlfriend has been my biggest supporter through the whole process.

8) I watched Assassins Creed when it came out and started trying to figure out how to make a hidden blade as a joke with my girlfriend. The research into that “joke” has led me to attempting to become a blacksmith. A heavy dose of movie magic and historical interested helped as well.

9) Not sure. I will let you know when I find it.

10) The biggest piece of advice I can give is DO YOUR OWN RESEARCH. Have an idea of what you want to do and the basic concepts of anything you want to ask a question about.

11) I am not confident enough in my own knowledge to presume to advise active blacksmiths.

12) I discovered that blacksmithing was fully alive in modern times. It really surprised me at how many people are pursuing blacksmithing. Some even as a full time career. It blew my mid