I Forge Iron

bending brass

dsabbagh

I am brand new to working with brass so I am taking a 6" x 3" x 3/16" piece of the material for bending to a shop that offers forming services. The brass will be bent on a press break to a 90  with a 1" radius. I am wondering if I should anneal the piece before taking it to the shop or am I being overly cautious. Thanks in advance for any answers that are provided.

What state is it in now?  If it was sold annealed you don't need to re-anneal it.  If it's half or full hard you do need to anneal it.

Whether it can be bent without failure does depend on which of the several hundred brass alloys it is of course!

Do you know how to anneal brass?  It's different from steel.

Here is some more information. It's C360 and the invoice said it's half-hard so it's looking like I need to anneal it. I've never annealed brass but the information I've gathered from the internet says that I need to heat it to a dull red then quench it in water to quickly cool it off.

I purchased a sizable piece C360 both out of need and unfamiliarity so I am stuck with it. I've been all over the internet and came to this site as another resource. I think I am going to anneal the piece and just see what happens. That is usually the best way to learn something in metalworking.

Thanks for taking the time to respond.

I Googled, "C 360 malleability" and got nothing about bending directly by looking at the link headers. Reading some of the links I recognized and selected I'm linking this page as all I need to know. Bear in mind I've been working metal all my life and what I need to know might not be what YOU need to know, people working a shop that does this kind of thing should already know what C 360 requires but if not print this page and it should do. 

https://alloys.copper.org/alloy/C36000?referrer=facetedsearch