I Forge Iron

Beginner forging question

Hello everyone! This is my first post, and I am a beginner bladesmith. I use a charcoal forge connected to a hand blower to forge my knives ( if you can call them that). The problem is, whenever I forge a knife it ends up having quite a few pockmarks in the surface, and sanding or grinding them out completely would, it seems, leave the blade too thin. I was wondering if this is normal, and if not, tips and/or techniques to minimize or completely prevent the flaws. Any nuggets of wisdom would forever be appreciated!

Thanks!  

Are you wire brushing the scale off regularly?  If not you may be driving pieces of scale down into the steel that will leave pits/pockmarks when you clean up the blade for grinding.  And there's always the old adage of "forge thick and grind thin."

Here are two different pieces that I forged. Both are very rough. They also have quite a few high and low spots, but I think that is due to poor hammer control. Sorry for the poor image quality. Hope this helps!

1497630295226.jpg

1497630386786.jpg

41 minutes ago, Buzzkill said:

Are you wire brushing the scale off regularly?  If not you may be driving pieces of scale down into the steel that will leave pits/pockmarks when you clean up the blade for grinding.  And there's always the old adage of "forge thick and grind thin."

I try to brush the scale off every time I remove it from the fire. Not a lot seems to come off though, until I start hammering on it and it starts to fall off. 

What was your starting stock for these blades?  To me some of it looks to be from scale hammered into the work, but if you are starting with old rusty steel you may have some pitting that is deeper than you realize to begin with.