I Forge Iron

Wanting to get into casting/melting

Hi, I am new to casting. I don't have a working setup yet. I am wanting to build one. Perhaps out of an old oven I found but not sure if that would be best. I want to build it big enough to be able to melt iron someday. But mostly I'll be doing brass and aluminum. I live on an old farm and there are all sorts of old weathered metals, tools. I don't mean worthless as junk iron, or such. I have sold off loads and loads of it. I just am getting to point where I need a hobby. I have been watching a lot of YouTubers that do casting. But I don't know what kind of design I want to do. I would like to see one in person so I can see them and ask a hundred and five questions as I think of them. I live in Eastern New Mexico. I would also be interested in making reusable molds, but that is a long time off.

Welcome to IFI! There are lots of people here with all kinds of experience with casting and other metalwork, so you've definitely come to a good place.

Before you get started, please take the time to read over the entire section on casting, especially the threads on SAFETY. Casting can be horribly dangerous, and YouTube videos are notorious for presenting incredibly unsafe practices as normal. Kudos to you for wanting to seek out in-person instruction; that is definitely the way to go.

Take a look as well at the sections on general blacksmithing. Smithing is a lot easier to take up at a basic level than casting, especially if you have lots of "old weathered metal [and] tools" already. Take a look around, see what interests you, read EVERYTHING, and keep in touch.

(N.B.: thanks for putting your location in your profile settings. We have a number of members in NM, and you might find other IFI members in your area.)