I Forge Iron

Have been fiddling with my home built gas forge for a few weeks now but always felt restricted by the anvil I had, just a cylinder of mild steel.

Took the plunge and got myself a nice little 75lb NC tool farriers anvil. Could not believe what a difference having a hardened face makes, not to mention a real hardy hole and all the other benefits.

So have been out in the yard just about every night after work hammering and playing and learning. Still a complete beginner at this but wanted to share a couple of pics of the output so far. Criticism will be taken with a smile, I have only been at this for a week 'for real' so no great expectations at this stage.

Thanks for looking 

Dave

smForged 014.jpg

smForged 013.jpg

smForged 015.jpg

Your leaves are really looking good. What are the S hooks going to be used for? A nice finial scroll will make them look more finished.

Not easy to get split crosses to open evenly is it? I like a more weathered wood grain texture on them better but that's me. 

Criticism eh. . . Hmmm. . . . Let's see . . . Alright. Next time how about taking the pics on a fresh mown lawn, the dirt and dead stuff looks so . . . <_<

Okay?

Frosty The Lucky.

13 minutes ago, Frosty said:

Your leaves are really looking good. What are the S hooks going to be used for? A nice finial scroll will make them look more finished.

Not easy to get split crosses to open evenly is it? I like a more weathered wood grain texture on them better but that's me. 

Criticism eh. . . Hmmm. . . . Let's see . . . Alright. Next time how about taking the pics on a fresh mown lawn, the dirt and dead stuff looks so . . . <_<

Okay?

Frosty The Lucky.