I Forge Iron

Help me improve my charcoal forge

I have been blacksmithing for a few months using a simple wooden table filled with clay.
I had a lot more success with my newest forge compared to the old ones I made before.

However, while I can fairly easily heat steel to an orange heat, I can difficultly reach a white heat or a welding heat.
I have observed that my charcoal can glow from time to time to a bright white heat and heat my stock quickly, but it is not consistent.
I believe my problem is that the charcoal don't fall easily into the fire pot and a lot of void is created.
To bring air to the forge, i use a shop vac and control the airflow by increasing or decreasing the distance between the tuyere and the shop vac's pipe.

Maybe I should enlarge the fire pot?

fire_pot_width.thumb.JPG.8451321f2eaa5096c358c238cc34456f.JPG
We can't see it clearly, but my forge is surrounded by bricks for wind protection and insulation.

fire_pot_height.thumb.JPG.d27d6c9ac6f383ce94d238f908304c11.JPG
The fire pot depth is slightly more than 4 inches.

tuyere.thumb.JPG.6b529beaa65b749176f43a4bced120c3.JPG
The tuyere diameter in the inside is around 1 and 1/4 inches.

charcoal.thumb.JPG.17a5301f425ea988f740a9e8ef569923.JPG
Here is a look of the charcoal I make.

Thanks in advance.

This is my set up. I use 2" pipe. You need high flow/ low pressure for air. I like my charcoal acorn size. Smaller peaces seam to burn fast but put off way more heat. 

Hope this helps. Been forging since February 

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Jasent; are you getting forge welding temps in that set up?

Xavier, have you tried making your firepot taller by placing firebricks around the rim?  Also real slow air will help. You generally want up to 6 inches of charcoal under your piece and several inches over it.  More pictures of your forge would help instead of just close ups.