I Forge Iron

New Apprentice Blacksmiths

Me:(Ryan); and my brother:(Bryan); have decided to go into blacksmithing because of our love of fire and wish to learn more but were on a fixed budget of $75 a week and have a crappy shop we have to fix and we have bought most of the equipment to get started like our Mig welder, vise, torch but still have a few things that I will post in another thread. we live in Oconee county in south Carolina we don't have much but we can start by getting more equipment like the next two thing on our list is a Forge and an anvil. we are 16 and still go to high school as we are rising juniors, but we will be getting more stuff soon and I'm not that good at introductions so I will wrap this up so anyway we hope to learn from this an my brother a little more than be because he has been sheltered all of his life, so I know more about the tools but he can pull his own weight, so I'm not that worried about him, so anyway that's it for this intro  

I'm 60 and I don't get $75 a week to spend on my vices (and vises)!  You have an embarrassment of riches! First try to save as much of it as possible to fund large purchases. (One of the cardinal rules on trying to get stuff cheap is having the money to hand when a deal appears!)

Second look up the TPAAAT for a good method of finding stuff on the cheap. I bought my first powerhammer, a 25# little giant, for US$75 and while that was a while ago it was still way under "current prices".

Do you have a library card?  Go ask the main desk how to ILL "$50 Knife Shop", "The Complete Modern Blacksmith", "Backyard Blacksmith", "Introduction to Knifemaking"; etc. (You may need Parental approval to order knifemaking books...)

Find the local Blacksmithing group, (you might check the ABANA Affiliate listings) and attend meetings   *knowledge* is far more important than tools, (and just knowing what tools are mandatory vs helpful vs not really needed is a massive savings.)