I Forge Iron

Everything blacksmith/craigslist

I am new to blacksmithing. Well to be more specific, I have yet to swing a hammer. I will begin my training with Mr. Bud Harvey of Hot Iron Blacksmith in Chillicothe, IL on June 3. He offers classes consisting of nine levels of training. Each successive class building on the skills learned in the previous level.

In my excitement and anticipation, I have been scouring the internet looking for the basics to set up my own forge on the cheap, without much luck.

It seems that the market has been cornered. I found a listing on craigslist with an astonishing amount of blacksmith related tools. I thought I would pass it on in case someone was looking for something specific. I hope to get there myself eventually, but since it is rather far from my home I will wait until I have a better understanding and some training.

Link remove due to not following IFI's ToS

Thanks Scrambler82. Yea, that is a lot of stuff.

All I want is an anvil, a couple hammers, a couple of tongs and a forge with blower. Fair warning, Powerball is up to 228 million and if I win I'm buying it all!

I may have a touch of OCD.

Seriously though, I can't wait to begin.

Cool stuff.  I think it's great to see piles of blacksmithing gear like that, but watch out because it's against the rules on IFI to post off site commercial links.  Be prepared for moderators to remove your link.  Might try posting in the knife maker's supplies section, commercial website links seem to be ok there.  

11 hours ago, cma68 said:

Fair warning, Powerball is up to 228 million and if I win I'm buying it all!

You should try throwing a feather through a 1" thick steel plate. Your odds of success are better than winning the Powerball.