I Forge Iron

First coal forge almost done with adjustable firepot

HP500

This is my first attempt at building a forge of any kind. So I dusted off the old Lincoln Tombstone welder and decided on a portable coal forge to start with. I was fortunate enough to find most of the metal for free out of scrap except for the plate I needed for the firepot. and the hearth plate. The frame and coal back stop were made from an old heavy equipment steel shipping crate my friend had in his junk pile. I got the hearth plate for $10 from a very nice local blacksmith. That determined the size of my forge, which is 24" x 22". I still need to paint the frame and hook up my air supply. After that, I should be ready to go! 

forge051417.thumb.jpg.41440632397497c9d35a2a2547badde0.jpg

Top view:

5918f90320e1c_forgetop051417.thumb.jpg.231795a910ef6d1a853ffdf8130ec482.jpg

The firepot/tuyere assembly is removable in case I want to use it for a larger forge someday. The firepot is 11" x 9" wide x 5" deep.

I'm beginner, so I'm going to start out practicing basic hammering techniques, making punches, chisels, tongs, other tools etc. and then work up to larger projects once I gain experience. Correct me if I'm wrong, but my firepot may be a bit large for the small stuff. Is this so? I came up with an idea to make the depth adjustable. I'm not sure if it will work or not, but i thought I'd throw it out there. I had a few old cast iron grill grates from my gas grill laying around. I cut one of them to size to use as a removable insert to reduce the depth to 3". I have more grill grates, so I can cut them to size to make the firepot depth any depth I want. Do you think this is a good idea or just a waste of time? What would be the ideal depth for punches, chisels, coal rakes, etc.? Here are some pics of the pot without and with the insert:

pot.thumb.jpg.66a6eed725368a4419b5cb727b1c06ae.jpg

insert.thumb.jpg.623ca815a907177385f7e8b15d891ef5.jpg

Greetings HP,