I Forge Iron

New guy from Indiana

Kit

I'm an EMT for Tippecanoe County, Indiana (the county Purdue University is in), I am also a volunteer firefighter. Blacksmithing has always been intriguing to me, after recently discovering the show Forged in Fire, (I have read mixed reviews by blacksmiths who say it tends to misrepresent the craft and adds flashiness) but either way it piqued my interest to look into the craft. I don't have anything yet to start in the hobby but I am actively researching, reading, watching videos, etc. My initial plan would be to start with a hammer, a fire, and something to hammer on, and work my way through making chisels, punches, cutters, tongs, and eventually my own hammers before moving on to making other pieces. Some of my other hobbies/interests are firearms, I dabble in woodworking, I also enjoy smoking meat, a good cigar with a decent brown colored drink, I have a wonderful wife and she had a nephew that we love to spoil. I look forward to learning all that I can here.

-Kit

Welcome fellow Hoosier.  As Steve said, there a several smiths in the area. I suggest you check out the IBA website. There is a bunch of stuff coming up. Somewhere on this site there are links to Blacksmith videos, that would be worth looking into. For one, check out John Bennett, he was IBA  blacksmith of the year last year. Actually, I will be visiting his group at Rockville fairgrounds in the morning @9:00 AM for their monthly meeting. Abit of a drive for you, bit might be worth checking out. Welcome to the craft...Life is Good.......                       Dave               (not a knife maker):ph34r:

1 hour ago, Steve Sells said:

welcome from Ft Wayne, I know personally of a few smiths your way so you are on good hands if you hook up with the local groups.

Hey, go komets! My grandparents live right off of liberty mills and homestead. I make my way up there every now and again, they have season tickets. 

58 minutes ago, Dave51B said: