I Forge Iron

First forge in this little one

brickman

Excellent! My first two forges were rivet forges, and you can do a whole lot more in one than people think. My only suggestion would be to get yourself some kind of stand to support the weight of longer stock. You'll thank yourself.

1 hour ago, JHCC said:

Excellent! My first two forges were rivet forges, and you can do a whole lot more in one than people think. My only suggestion would be to get yourself some kind of stand to support the weight of longer stock. You'll thank yourself.

yeah i have some i can steal from our barn that are old truck rims with tubing welded on and another piece of smaller tubing in it for height adjustment. they should work out

On 4/8/2017 at 2:09 AM, Arkham said:

Good looking forge brickman. I had a chance to buy a rivet forge just like that, I seriously regret it now. 

my only gripe is that the top isnt very big and i'm still learning tomanage a fire, and while it doesnt burn through much coal sometimes i get annoyed at how little of the metal it heats

37 minutes ago, PapaDooks said:

good point but then rivets aren't really all that big so could heat a fair few of them in that lil fire 

Yeah and a lot of my issue is still just me learning to control the fire well also. Once i get better at that, it wont be such a problem. For making smaller things this forge will be more than enough... Although you can bet i'm already brewing plans for one that will go in my not yet built shop.

If you are sticking the steel down at an angle than the end will only get hot. the bar should be level, which makes it easier to heat up larger sections. You also must realize that with just a hand hammer you can only forge so much at a time. It wouldn't do much good if you heated up 8 inches of a bar when you can only really efficiently forge half or less of that 8 inches. I don't know if you are angling the stock, so this is just a suggestion/thought.

Littleblacksmith