I Forge Iron

Crucibles from refractory cement?

hello. so im new to this form but ive read alot of the postings and ussally good stuff.

but ive been unable to find some answers bout crucibles. im planing to make some for melting iron to make steel. as far as my back ground ive been a smith for ten years self trained. ive been smelting lead aluminum bronze for bout 3 years. and ive maid sevral ok bloomerys. but im left with sum eh iron from the last run that id like to make into steel. i got a good formula that ive test ran al a local foundry. but since i dont wana lift crucible out to pour. far to dangares in my eyes. and this is where input would be great. if i leave crucible in furnece to cool will it stick to the crucible walls and if it peobly will then got no problem maken one time use crucibles, but dk what to make them out of.. plz help

Was smelt a typo?   (You can smelt copper, you can smelt tin; but you can't smelt bronze!  Aluminum is usually smelted using electrolytic means; is that how you are doing it?)

Bloomeries are for smelting iron from ore.

Yes generally leaving the melt in a crucible will result in the loss of the crucible due to sticking or cracking.  What were you going to use for flux?

As molten steel is a large leap more dangerous than melting low temp metals like AL, or intermediate metals like copper, I'm afraid I can't address this on a DIY basis. Almost all folks I know melting steel use commercially available crucibles.

Welcome aboard Alex, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might be surprised how many of the Iforge gang live within visiting distance.

Judging by your post I recommend you take a casting course I don't think you know enough to safely do any high temp casting. Bronze is a lot more dangerous than I believe you're equipped to deal with safely. 

Making steel is NOT a home shop project and in fact happens a process or two AFTER ore is "Smelted" into useful iron.