I Forge Iron

Newbie from wisconsin

Northland73

Hello smiths,

As in the title, I am new to smithing, but have been interested in manipulating metal for many years. I grew up on a farm as a kid so finding ways to be handy has become second nature to me. I've been researching around your site for various forge designs, and ways to do things.   I'm planning to start with a small coal forge, and see how I enjoy it. Any input is greatly appreciated, and thank you for having me. 

North. 

Welcome aboard Northland73. 

Sounds like you have an idea. Next you plan. There are many ways to build a small coal forge. Find what will best work for you and what you plan to make. 

If you are like us at all, once you start you'll be hooked. :) 

Most if not all parts to make a forge like that can be sourced cheap if not free. It is a little easier to assemble if you have a welder but can be done without as well without much effort.  Going through the solid fuel forge section and reading the pinned posts and going through the rest should give you a good idea of how simple it can be. 

Upper Midwest Blacksmith Assoc. Go to the meetings with a pencil and notebook. You can learn more in a day than you can imagine.

Next event 

Broom making class!! February 24 @ 10:00 am - 5:00 pm Jim’s Place,  South Beloit, IL 61080 United States  We will be having a broom making class on Friday February 24th - this is the day before the winter event.   We have the broom-corn, and we have some string.  Please bring your own handle. Jeff Amundson - an accomplished broom maker, will be teaching this class. 

2017 UMBA Winter Event February 25 @ 9:00 am - February 26 @ 5:00 pm Jim’s Place, South Beloit, IL 61080 United States