I Forge Iron

Pricing assistance required.

Sargos

I will be needing assistance from a moderator or a moderator endorsed person. I have the opportunity to view and photograph a collection of 20+ anvils, various forges, possible other forging equipment. 

What I need to do is...

1) properly identify each item

2) estimate what should be payed for each item

3) estimate what each item should sell for

I am extremely new to this entire craft and have very little knowledge of my own. Frankly I am surprised this opportunity came my way, still trying to figure that out. This could be a very exciting way to educate myself (with the forums assistance) and perhaps find some excellent gear at a fair price.

Thank you,

John

Lemme get this straight---you are being contracted to document and appraise an existing collection/hoard of smithing related tooling for future resale or insurance reasons?

That's actually a LOT more work than it seems at first because to do the job right, you also have to document comps to justify the data you come up with.  Professionally, it's much more than just giving your opinion.  Be sure to include enough hours because done right, it'll take more than you think.

Long ago I was associated with an expert appraiser of L. Frank Baum (Wizard of Oz author) books.  She wouldn't touch an appraisal for less than a couple of hundred bucks because of the support documentation she needed to produce which often took many days.  Obviously most anvil collections would be a little less finicky but you really need to suss out the clients expectations before the job to know how many hours will be needed.