I Forge Iron

I'm a beginner blacksmith and I have made my own forge and anvil from scrap parts and thrift store purchases. The forge is awesome and I have no complaints about that investment but the anvil has some serious draw backs. I didn't know about this resource before I constructed it so I'm throwing this out to the forum to see if there is any advice on improving what I already have. I have read through many of the previous posts and all I hear is that rail anvils are worthless. I'm definitely a baller on a budget. This works and has many tool configurations that are extremely useful however it is noisy and has a depleted rebound. If there anything I can do to improve that? Here are a few pics... Let the beatings begin

1486191456519370520338.jpg

14861917844331097570266.jpg

1486191837261355121158.jpg

1486191922419-1743416269.jpg

1486191974740-2010520805.jpg

Zaxmyth, Use what you have and learn!  If you fill in the spaces between your anvil face and the rail with a couple of tubes of silicon caulking it should  quiet it down considerably.

Also bolting it down to stump tight will help, some.

Find and connect with a local blacksmith group, they will be a big help in locating stuff.

I had to look close at the forge bowl..a rail spike clinker breaker? Cool idea. How well has it been working for you?

That anvil will work, and when you get/buy/find a more solid anvil you will have a real appreciation for good rebound. I started on a 4 foot rail standing on end. Thought it was better than any anvil could ever be....until I tried other anvil styles. Still,I got a LOT of experience using that rail.