I Forge Iron

Hello

Bumpy

Hello all... I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm a mathematician and the son of a former owner of The Knife Store. Anyway, I'm fascinated by forging, and would love to do it.... scared to death tho lol. Looks like something that looks wayyyy easier than it really is. Any ideas on where to start?

Start by packing a lunch and a cold drink and reading the sections of IForgeIron that are of interest to you. The stickies should come first as they have good basic information. From there read the rest of the site. (grin). 

A forge is simply something to hold the fire. Find a fuel in your area that is cheap and build the forge to use that fuel. 

An anvil is something heavy to hit on. A sledge hammer head or any other mass of metal will work. Ideally something 50 to 100 pounds, and the heavier the better. Fork life forks work, as does many other things that do not look like London pattern anvils.

And a hammer is something to hit with (2 pound or so). Flea market hammers, ball peen hammers, etc etc.

Add your location to your profile. Chances are there are blacksmiths or groups near you. Go to the meetings. That is where the knowledge is that you seek. They also have the tools for sale that you will want later.

Age is not a requirement. We have had individuals as young as 6 years old when they started blacksmithing.

If you have questions, tell us what you have read, what you have tried, and how it did or did not work for you. The more specific the question, the better the answer you will get in the reply.

As soon as you finish reading this post go to the section on safety and read it twice. There are things that you want to avoid as they can kill you, zinc or coated metals for instance. Best advice to a beginner is if the metal gets too hot to hold, then turn it loose. This is a good reason for tongs, long pieces of metal and other holding devices. 

Welcome to the site and the craft. Please enjoy your visit.