I Forge Iron

No idea what I'm doing, but I read stuff on the interweb

duckrunner

So this is my first time building a forge, did a ton of research and lurked on here quite a bit and here's what I came up with. I call him Gene.IMG_20170111_175633176.jpg

The body is an old air tank (9"wX16"l) I had buried in my camping gear. All the rest is from various other projects and random crap I've had laying around, minus the ceramic wool, a couple of the burner fittings and refractory I just got in tonight. 2" of whatever brand ceramic wool the pottery supply store had in Minneapolis coated with a 3000° refractory cement that's currently curing. Also picked up a 2,800° fire brick from the pottery store I'm going to cut in half for flooring in the forge.IMG_20170112_192552994.jpg

Burner is a 3/4" reil design with a flap on top to control air flow, regulator came off a deep frier my roommate has... So I'm gonna need to get my own regulator before he goes to fry a turkey next Thanksgiving...IMG_20170108_160523499.jpgIMG_20170108_174150771.jpg

I built this so I can forge small stuff, mostly knives and whatnot but also be able to stand it vertical so I can melt down brass to use for guards on said knives. 

I know the burner burns, just hope it all works for actual forging! Any input, criticism and ideas are very welcome and appreciated!

Few random pics through the build process...IMG_20170108_243936848.jpgIMG_20170105_190932965.jpgIMG_20170108_030700209.jpg