I Forge Iron

Brazing Help!

11echo

...I'm a hobbyist machinist, and I have just picked up a little knee mill that's probably about 70 years old. I'm in the process now of cleaning it up. In this process I noticed that the cast iron pedestal is cracked in two places. Not real long cracks, one is about a 1 1/4" and the other is about 2 1/2". This is at the base that has cast in webs, so varying widths of cast iron. Which is kind of the problem, I'm finding it hard to get the area to braze hot enough to do the job! One problem with my brazing technique that I

I did stop the one small crack; the other goes clean thru to the edge, so nothing to stop. I have a #2 tip, but that's too small to put out the heat I need. Don't think the #3 would do much better!?? ...I do have a rosebud tip which I planned to slow the cooling process with. I guess I could try to pre-heat with it!!?

May I suggest getting a #4 tip. A good preheat will help, as John B said. 1/8" rod should be plenty. The slow cool should be accomplished by wrapping in kaolwool or completely covering with DRY sand. Good cast, as this most definitly will be, is not that difficult to braze, IF you can get it hot enough. I have brazed broken valve yokes on 24" valves with no problem, ya jest gotta getter HOT! :) Good luck, and be patient

What is the likely cause of the crack?

Was it dropped or hit?

It may be a crack caused by poor casting design.

If I can see no cause for the crack I might be tempted to drill a hole at the end of the cracks to keep them from spreading and call it good.

I have done a fair amount of cast iron welding and brazing and I am always concerned that I make the situation worse by thermal sresses