I Forge Iron

Job/Career

Emower

I was pondering the other night about what people generally do for a living who are involved with this art. So what does everyone here do? Are there any orthodontists out there who are leading double lives as blacksmiths? Or are we all involved in some sort of metal working field?

I work for the New Mexico Game and Fish as a Fish Biologist.

I am a software engineer working for a major computer manufacturer. I live in New Mexico near El Paso TX and work at the factory in Mexico.  Previous to this job I worked as an software integration engineer for the National Radio Astronomy Observatory at the VLA headquarters building in Socorro NM working on the ALMA project being built in Chile. After a long day of working with computers it is very therapeutic to come home and hit metal with a hammer---repeatedly!  I have  BS's in Geology/Geophysics and Computer and Information Science and used to work in the oil patch in the early 1980's

Welcome Emower,

I forge ornamental and architectural iron, weld snow plows (smh), repair /fabricate factory and manufacturing equipment. 

Most blacksmithing communities seem to have at least one doctor, dentist, 8+ years of college smith.

Some even know how to forge :P

Does your local office have an in-house fabrication shop or do you farm it out? I'm trying to sniff out your local scrap pile. 

About 28 years in Aerospace, the last 13 of which have been as a tool and cutter grinder/engineerig support; wedge in there somewhere about two years of aimless wandering.

Last 22 months with a team making Rolls Royce jet engine components.

Beat steel to decompress from the unnerving necessity of high stress zero error throughput.

Robert Taylor

Well... I'm sixteen and worked last year and plan to work this year at a strawberry type farm and have helped a guy bale hay.  Now starting to think about colleges as I want to do some type of engineering in the future.