I Forge Iron

Gas forge assistance required

JWParker62

My wife is super excited and worrying me to death to start a new hobby and blacksmithing is her hobby of choice. I have been researching for about 2 months now to find her a gas propane forge for her to start with. She will be doing this just as a hobby for starters and will be focusing on mainly knife work. I feel like I'm running in circles now. I have been on all the major player sites for pre-built forges and have read a whole lot of the forum post on this site. I was trying avoid building her a forge, but after seeing the prices of the ready made ones, I can't pull the trigger on a $700+ piece of equipment that she might use for a few months and then give it up. So it looks like i will be building her one. I have read through a lot of the posts on here and see bits and pieces of things i would need to accomplish this task. Is there a master list somewhere out there by which i could start with? I do not have access to a welder, nor do i have access to anything that would cut a propane tank apart. I don't want to go so small to where all she can make is a pocket knife, and she doesn't need to be making a sword either. Something in the 2 burner range, maybe with a 16" bed, is what i was thinking. 

Watching a lot of Youtube and doing a lot of google searching, has implanted a good bit of understanding of the art, but i am still at a loss of at where to really begin with this project. I have read through the forges 101 and understand about temperature and burners, but i don't know where the best place to purchase such equipment would be. 

I lay my request at the experts feet, hoping for some good feedback that I have seen in so many of these forums. 

Welcome to the forum.   I consider you a lucky man if your wife wants this as a hobby, but that's in line with my interests so it may not be the same for you.