I Forge Iron

Just getting started

Millhand

Hello all and thanks for having me!

I'm new to blacksmithing to some degree. I've never owned a forge but have been doing my own fabricating for the greater portion of my life also I've been very fortunate to have collected and built a decent metal fab shop that will help me get this thing off the ground.

So anyways here is the start of my forge. please feel free to criticize or point out any shortcomings tips, or tricks you may know/see. Thanks for looking.

It's made out of some 1/2" Dimond plate I has laying around. 10x12x5.5 deep   I may make a insert to shrink it up for smaller work  

1483402173410-1718885444.jpg

20170102_172339.jpg

20170102_183459.jpg

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Thanks guys! tomorrow I'll hopefully get the tray finished and firepot installed. Wednesday I'll build the hood and install the blower.

I'll document my shop build here as well. after I get my coal forge done I'm moving on to a 35 ton press build, maybe a 100lb air hammer after that.

man I'm glad I never throw anything away, my massive piles of treasures will shrink drastically by the time I'm done lol   

The only thing I can say is the fire pot might be a tad deep. Mine was too deep and I found myself pointing my work pieces downward to get into the heat, and it was hard to heat the middle of longer pieces that way. I raised my fire ball and it helped a lot. Mind you I am far from an expert just sayin what my experience was.

Hahaa!  I had to look up the meaning of that phrase.

I live in  Northern Michigan.

on the deep pot I had planned to make it 4.5" deep and had it all soapstoned out at that measurement, then my last min bigger is better self kicked in.  I'll make a insert or Butch a inch off, if it doesn't work.