I Forge Iron

Cheapo Spear (knif, byproduct)

So I was making a Christmas gift out of an old chisel with a rotted handle. After drawing out and finishing the blade, I was left with the round socket and a short but rather thick "nub" from the base of the chisel.

I knew the socket was a bit small for a spear, but in between cooling period from other projects I started drawing out the nub into a blade. I didn't think it had enough metal to make a normal looking spear head, but as always, there was plenty once I started getting it flat.

As it happened, I also had a broken rake from this year's fall cleanup in the shed, and its handle fit nearly perfectly into the socket. So, I sanded it, hit it with the torch to give it an aged look, then rubbed in a little stain, and pinned the head on.

The end product isn't exactly what I'd call battle ready (really only because of the comparatively flimsy rake handle, the head is solid, if only a little small)... But for something that took an hour of my time (not counting tempering, obviously) and is literally made out of my garbage, I'm actually pretty tickled about how it came out. DEFINITELY going to try spear making again, the right way, once I get the proper equipment.

image.jpeg

image.jpeg

Well, it could just be my ignorance, but I have no idea how I would make a solid socket with just my hammer, tongs and anvil (which is the totality of what I have aside from the fire part). I've seen tutorials where you just sort of wrap and weld (technically I don't have the stuff to weld either, but I can visit my buddy's shop for that), but even that leaves an opening where the socket and blade meet.... Not to mention, I have only one set of tongs currently, that makes any project where I don't have a long extension "handle" difficult until I have it hammered to fit the set that I have. With the wrap and weld technique that seems like it could be problematic.