I Forge Iron

New guy in the area

Hi All,

It was recommended I poke my head in here and say hello. I'm a complete novice and just a hobbyist having fun hitting hot steel. I'm primarily interested in bladesmithing and making the various tools to enable that. There seems to be something useful to learn from pretty much any blacksmithing conversation though. I'm in Vermont, located up around the Burlington area. I hear there might be a few other Vermonters on here. I'll be keeping an eye out for activities, learning opportunities and whatnot in the area.

-Nate

Hi Nate, welcome aboard.  Always nice to see another Vermonter smithing!  First thing I'd do is join NEB and make your way to one of the meets, it'll blow your socks off.  Around half of them are held in NH and the rest scattered around New England as we find a sucker...I mean volunteer to host.  We also have informal, occasional (sometimes very occasional like ever year or 2) get togethers at guys shops here in VT.  PM me your name address and email and I'll add you to the mailing list if you want.  

There are learning opportunities around Burlington too.  The Lake Champlain Maritime Museum in Vergennes has a big teaching shop and frequent classes.  Shelburne Museum sometimes has classes, and I've heard the the Shelburne Craft school is trying to get something going.  Bob Bordeux in Waterbury teaches knife making classes in his shop in Waterbury last I knew.  Further afield the Old Stone House Museum up in Brownington sometimes holds classes, as does the Grafton Museum down in Grafton.  There are probably more but that's just off the top of my head.  

Do you know about Ray out on Lakeshore Drive in Colchester?  Blanking on his last name right now, sorry.  He usually has a pile of anvils for sale.  Not cheap but reasonable quality, often has a craigslist add going but it's against the rules for me to post it here.