I Forge Iron

starter project

omegabrock

So my current project is basically learning some hammer techniques. Waiting for everything to heat up, I scrolled some posts and learned a good bit about *how* to swing the hammer. That really helped the fatigued aspect. 

Anyways, this is what I started with. Just some old scrap hook I found. Maybe 3/8" thick...

first, straightened it out. Then I practiced drawing out, tapering and rounding. Last, I squared off part of it before the rounding and finished with a little grinding just to clean it up. 

Im happy considering I'm a complete newbie

IMG_1093.JPG

IMG_1094.JPG

IMG_1095.JPG

Oh wow, that's good to know. I'm really glad I found that thread earlier then haha. I'm not sure exactly what 1050 means but I'll check into that.

It seemed like it hit a breaking point around half thickness where it was a lot easier to form under the hammer. Then again, it could have just been that it was fully heated throughout the middle. 

OK that's the basics:  1050 is a steel designation in the AISI/SAE system; the 10 refers to an alloy with just iron, carbon and a touch of Manganese from the smelting; the 50 refers to the carbon content in points with 100 points being 1% Carbon. 

From the wikipedia entry for Carbon Steel: (as I am too lazy to type this out.)

Carbon steel is broken down into four classes based on carbon content:

Low-carbon steel:  Up to 0.212% carbon content.

Medium-carbon steel: Approximately 0.3–0.6% carbon content. Balances ductility and strength and has good wear resistance; used for large parts, forging and automotive components.  (30 to 60 points)

High-carbon steel: Approximately 0.6–1.0% carbon content. Very strong, used for springs, swords, and high-strength wires. (60 to 100 points)