I Forge Iron

Frustration

BlasterJoe

Hello all,

I have been working on making my own hammer. This is my first attempt ever with something this big. I used a piece of trans axle I found and just kind of went for it. After about a day and a half of work it all blew up in my face. I think I need to make a better eye punch. I made a drift but figured I could just drive a cold chisel I made from an old pry bar. Was it spreading too much too fast? I tried to keep yellow heat when driving it but it did stick a few time and took some doing to get it out. 

IMG_0375.JPG

IMG_0376.JPG

Too sharp on the corners.  

Imagine bending a piece of flat bar to 90 degrees in a vice.  If you make a really tight bend, the outer edge of that bend has to stretch.  If the bend is too tight a radius, that stretching will be so severe that the outer surface of the metal can't deform well enough and will crack.  Ductility has limits (even at yellow heat)

1681999702.jpg

That is exactly the same thing that is happening on your hammer blank.  When you are driving the punch, the sharp corners are causing the metal to stretch more than it is capable of which starts a corner crack.  Once you have even a tiny start, it will progress to the point of catastrophic.