I Forge Iron

Hello from Hampton Roads, VIrginia

Good Evening Everyone!

I have been on the forums now for a couple of weeks and you can find me in the Chat Room fairly often.

I Live in Newport News, VA and am a 21 yr Navy veteran (active and reserve), I have a wife a son and two dogs.  Currently, I work in the IT department of Huntington Ingalls Industries and have been there for over 5 Years.  I worked 13 years in Freight Forwarding, designing crates, creating and executing container load plans, along with warehousing and inventory.  I am a Doctor Who fan, LOTR fan, and a Hitchhikers Guide to that Galaxy fan so I am a bit of a geek and I love British humor.  I build PC's, Websites, design logos and design various build projects.

Saying that I am a newbie to blacksmithing  is  an understatement.  I can not tell you the difference between two pieces of steel, differences between anvils or even hammers but I have always wanted to learn.  My last foray into this was back in Junior High School (I am 44 now so you do the math).  I remember how much I loved making the few tools I made back then; however, time, life, money and space has kept me from perusing this when the desire did arise.   I have a son who is 18, he is currently doing some volunteer work in Kentucky.  Last year after Christmas he tool all the gift cards / cash that he had and built his own aluminum foundry from plans he found on you tube.  Although, I wanted to help he was insistent on completing the project himself (very proud papa).  Anyway, after he had finished it we had a lot of fun collecting and melting aluminum into ingots.  Eventually that first foundry creaked, crumbled and is now just the pail he started with.  As he was getting ready to head to KY there was no reason to rebuild it.  He is now working on a new set up there and on Thanksgiving I am to bring his "tools" with us when we meet up.