I Forge Iron

Gloves !! grrrrr

I wasn't exactly sure were to put this, sorry If it Is in the incorrect place. So, I have been forging for about 2 years now, and have gone through about 6 pairs of gloves! They always seem to tare near the thumb and also at the tips of the fingers. My first pair lasted me about 6 months, but unfortunately I don't remember who made them.....so, any of ya'll got recommendations on were to buy gloves that last? Also anyone know of were to get ONLY left handed gloves?:D

Littleblacksmith

• Replies 59
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

For the most part I don't use gloves regardess of what I'm doing bar a few exceptions, I've started using one my left hand when arc/mig welding as I find I need to help guide the rod/tip these days. I sometimes use a rag, sheet of paper or a scrap of leather depending what I'm doing. If you go through one of the pair reasonable uickly you need to team up with a glove buddy and swap rights for lefts or find gloves that fit both hands.....some of the knitted one do, and you may be able to find then with a heat resistant spec.

I always use a glove on my off hand and the ones I use come from a local welding supply house.   They are blue suede welding gloves and I have found them to be a very good compromise between not costing too much and lasting a long time.  I have been using the same one on my left hand for at least a year now.  There is no good solution to the left glove problem...you just have to reconcile yourself to wasting the right hand glove, for the most part.  

I use a heavy leather welding glove on my left (tong) hand when holding long stock. Lots of folks don't, and I'm moving away from wearing it all the time. C-1ToolSteel is absolutely right:

1 hour ago, C-1ToolSteel said:

If the steel is hot, its just a matter of time 'till you've got a hot glove to deal with.