I Forge Iron

154CM

dodo knives

Hey guys so I aint been around the past week or 2 but back and I have a question. so most of my stuff I have done has been 440C. of corse I started with 1084 and still use that once in a while. recently I have done 2 blades in CPMs35vn by first quench in oil just for a few seconds and then finish with a positive pressure but spraying air in a lil enclose, worked out well. I just got some 154CM (NOT the cpm version just the 154cm although it is made by crucible) so I want to heat treat a blade with this later today now I know basicly you try to heat treat to the hardness point and get it as hard as you can before it starts chipping so obviously different steels can take different hardness for example the cpms35vn can be heat treated harder than 440c if I made the 440c as hard as I could with the cpms35vn the 440c would chip like crazy. so like I said I have never used the 154cm before and I am wondering how hard I should try to make it without having lots of chipping. I would guess it would fall inbetween the 440c and the cpms35vn I looked at the spec sheet and it the aim hardness is 55-62 now that's a BIG gap so just looking for some advice from you guys that have used 154cm before any advice would help. oh also I do have a dewar full of liquid nitrogen so it will be cryo'ed (I know that increases the toughness a lil bit) and the spec sheet says oil OR positive pressure (not both like the cpms35vn) or salt ANDair  SO my plan was to just quench in oil and my oil is parks 50.  I have a hardness tester so I can test the heat treat and get it right on (HOPEFULLY :) )